The Missing Ingredient to Personalising Your Content

Adam E. Badenhorst
3 min readDec 17, 2019
@lelia_milaya

I have been reading a few articles and felt something. I felt absolutely no connection to them and couldn’t understand why. I was thinking about the missing piece. I couldn’t put my finger on it until one day. It was thanks to one of my clients that asked me to work for her using one element that I didn’t every think about including in my writing. All of a sudden it clicked: Emojis.

“Emojiing” up your content

Adding an emoji or two to personalise your content makes a difference. Believe it or not, it’s a personal touch that provides some kind of visual feeling for the reader. You can take it as a chance to provide your personal touch and add depth to your writing— an angry face might be enough to express what you want to say. Or, you may want to add an angel to represent some kind of good feeling or innocent emotion that you want to evoke out of your readers.

How to use them

Now, it may seem apparently easy and hopefully it is. I had a to get a flavour of how to use them. The biggest lesson I learned is not to overuse the emojis. Like anything else, adding them into the text is nice, but not too many. The obvious reason for that suggestion is that it can confuse the reader and pollute your text.

--

--

Adam E. Badenhorst

Enterpreneur. IT & Heritage Consultant disrupting industries. AI, blockchain, SaaS, ERP.