Adulting’s unprecedented challenges

Adam E. Badenhorst
3 min readMay 4, 2019
@mskatherineq via Twenty20

I had to take a step back from both Medium and writing generally. It sounds somewhat silly — I pride myself on writing and working towards my goals. But, the truth of the matter is that I was too busy. It has become a nearly unmanageable period. The truth is that life can consume us.

I have learnt in a short period that it wasn’t something that I was ready to handle. The majority of the events taking place ushered in new experiences that were totally out of my control. It was the first time in my life that I’ve learned what it means to be an adult. And, more importantly, adulting brings with it experiences and challenges for which we cannot prepare ourselves.

Here’s what I mean:

I was in a situation where someone chose to leave, and I was asked to take over their portfolio. At the same time, I had some personal issues in my family that required urgent attention. And, I have some other business topics that I managed at the same time. As a result, I am tired and hungover on life. I never thought that I could feel hungover as if I was out the previous night knocking a few down.

What about you? Has this ever happened to you?

Now, I learned that it’s the way life is. Sure, I am not an old man, but I feel like it sometimes. I’ve learned that we have to go with the flow no…

--

--

Adam E. Badenhorst

Enterpreneur. IT & Heritage Consultant disrupting industries. AI, blockchain, SaaS, ERP.